Report: Adriano Moraes vs. Demetrious Johnson rescheduled for ONE Championship event on February 24th.

Mandatory Credit: Dux Carvajal & ONE Championship

A flyweight title matchup between incumbent gold holder, Adriano ‘Mikinho’ Moraes and ONE Championship flyweight Grand Prix victor, Demetrious ‘Mighty Mouse’ Johnson has been nailed down for an event on February 24th.

Moraes and Johnson were initially set to land on the promotion’s ONE Infinity 1 event in April, until the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic forced the cancellation of the entire showcase.

Brazilian titleholder, Moraes regained the throne in January of last year, taking home a unanimous decision victory over Geje Eustaquio in a rubber-match following his title defeat the prior June.
For Johnson, the former dominant UFC flyweight championship holder has lodged three wins on the trot since his move to ONE Championship — defeating Danny Kingad via a unanimous judging win at ONE Championship: Century Part 1 in October of last year, winning the promotion’s flyweight Grand Prix tournament. ONE Championship leader,¬†Chatri Sityodtong¬†confirmed the matchup on his official Twitter account.
Moraes, 31, a native of Brasilia has featured under the organization’s banner since November of 2013, competing twelve times since.
The Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu black belt has established a 9-3 record since, scoring the vacant championship with a second-round guillotine win over the above-mentioned Eustaquio in 2014. From eighteen professional victories, Moraes has finished nine of his wins via submission.
AMC Pankration mainstay, Johnson has certainly bedded into his new ONE Championship home with aplomb. Prior to his tournament win over Kingad, Johnson managed a unanimous decision victory over Tatsumitsu Wada, and a guillotine stoppage of Yuya Wakamatsu.
Scoring the record for the most consecutive successful title defences in the history of the UFC with eleven, the 34-year-old Kentucky native had bested the likes of John Dodson (x2), John Moraga, Joseph Benavidez, Ali Baugautinov, Chris Cariaso, Kyoji Horiguchi, Henry Cejudo, Tim Elliott, Wilson Reis, and Ray Borg during his time as the promotion’s 125-pound titleholder.

Share on Social:

Share on facebook
Share on twitter

Find It Here


Follow US